Servant of Justice Awards Dinner


The 28th Annual Servant of Justice Awards Dinner

April 25, 2017
JW Marriott
1331 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Washington, DC

6:00 pm – Opening Reception
7:15 pm – Dinner, Awards Program & Dessert Reception

Support Legal Aid’s 2017 Servant of Justice Awards Dinner

**Click here for 2017 sponsorship opportunities**


2017 Servant of Justice Award Honorees

Vanita Gupta Vanita Gupta
Incoming President and CEO of The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights,
and former Head of the U.S. Department of Justice’s
Civil Rights Division

Presented by Sherrilyn Ifill
President and Director-Counsel of the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc.

 Donald B. Verrilli, Jr.
Partner, Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP
and former U.S. Solicitor General

Presented by Paul M. Smith
Professor, Georgetown University Law Center, and
Vice-President, Campaign Legal Center

2017 Klepper Prize for Volunteer Excellence Honoree

David Young
Associate, Ropes & Gray LLP

Presented by Arlene Fine Klepper

2017 Servant of Justice Awards Dinner Sponsors

Legal Aid expresses its deepest appreciation to the generous law firm and corporate sponsors of its 28th Annual Servant of Justice Awards Dinner (as of April 13, 2017).

Champion of Justice

LW Sponsorship
Leader of Justice



Defender of Justice

Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP
Alston & Bird LLP
Dentons US LLP
Gilbert LLP
Mayer Brown LLP
Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP
Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP

Guardian of Justice

Arent Fox LLP
Arnold & Porter Kaye Scholer LLP
Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP
Sidley Austin LLP
The Steptoe Foundation

Advocate of Justice

Altria Group, Inc.
Bailey & Glasser LLP
Baker Botts L.L.P.
Blank Rome LLP
BuckleySandler LLP
Cooley LLP
Crowell & Moring LLP
Debevoise & Plimpton LLP
Jenner & Block LLP
Morrison & Foerster LLP
O’Melveny & Myers LLP
Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP
Sullivan & Cromwell LLP
Venable LLP
Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP
Weisbrod Matteis & Copley PLLC
Wiley Rein LLP
Williams & Connolly LLP
Zuckerman Spaeder LLP

Steward of Justice

Allen & Overy LLP
Bloomberg Philanthropies
Boies, Schiller & Flexner LLP
Bryan Cave LLP
Citi Private Bank Law Firm Group
City National Bank
Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP
Cohen Milstein Sellers & Toll PLLC
Cushman & Wakefield
Ernst & Young LLP
Eversheds Sutherland (US) LLP
Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson LLP
Goodwin Procter LLP
Hogan Lovells US LLP
Holland & Knight LLP
Hughes Hubbard & Reed LLP
Hunton & Williams LLP
Jones Day
Katten Muchin Rosenman LLP
Kelley Drye & Warren LLP
Manatt, Phelps & Phillips LLP
Miller & Chevalier Chartered
Northrop Grumman Corporation
Norton Rose Fulbright
Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP
Perkins Coie LLP
Reed Smith LLP
Relman, Dane & Colfax PLLC
Ropes & Gray LLP
Sheppard Mullin Richter & Hampton LLP
Sterne, Kessler, Goldstein & Fox PLLC
Vinson & Elkins LLP
Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati Foundation

Dinner Co-Chairs

Peter Thomas
Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP

Jonice Gray Tucker
BuckleySandler LLP

Dinner Committee

Kwaku Akowuah
Sidley Austin LLP

Stephen D. Brody
O’Melveny & Myers LLP

Graeme W. Bush
Zuckerman Spaeder LLP

Richard Byrne
Exxon Mobil Corporation

John T. Byrnes
Cooley LLP

Michael Calhoon
Baker Botts L.L.P.

Sheila Cheston
Northrop Grumman Corporation

Annemargaret Connolly
Weil, Gotshal & Manges LLP

Leslie Davis
Crowell & Moring LLP

 Maria Earley
Reed Smith LLP

Nora E. Garrote
Venable LLP

Daniel G. Jarcho
Alston & Bird LLP

Kenneth Klein
Mayer Brown LLP

Jennifer Levy
Kirkland & Ellis LLP

Alex Young K. Oh
Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP

Kimberly Parker
Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr LLP

Kurt Richter
Cushman & Wakefield

Peter D. Shields
Wiley Rein LLP

Peter S. Spivack
Hogan Lovells US LLP

Alon Vogel
ADG Strategy LLC

Catherine Ziobro
The Carlyle Group

Michael Zolandz
Dentons US LLP



Photos and highlights from the 2016 Servant of Justice Awards Dinner