2024 Honorees

Debo Adegbile

Debo P. Adegbile
Servant of Justice Award

Judge Tatel

Judge David S. Tatel
Hogan Lovells
Servant of Justice Award

Legal Aid DC is thrilled to present Debo P. Adegbile and Judge David S. Tatel with the Servant of Justice Award at this year's Dinner, scheduled for April 9, 2024 in Washington. 

Judge Tatel, who rejoined Hogan Lovells as Senior Counsel this year, is a living legend of the law. His career spans nearly six decades in public interest law, government service, private practice, and almost 30 years on the DC Circuit Court of Appeals, nearly all in staunch defense of civil liberties. He served as first Executive Director of the Chicago Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, which went on to recently celebrate a landmark 50 years of providing pro bono civil legal counsel, after which he became Director of the national Lawyers Committee for Civil Rights Under Law. In the early 1970s, he helped found the Legal Services Corporation, which promotes equal access to justice by providing grants for civil legal defense for low-income Americans. Judge Tatel also led the Office for Civil Rights under President Jimmy Carter, revitalizing that office at a critical time in American civil rights history. He later founded the Education practice at then-Hogan & Hartson, advancing desegregation in school districts in suburban St. Louis, Kansas City, Milwaukee, and other cities throughout the country. In 1994, he was nominated by President Bill Clinton to the DC Circuit to succeed former Supreme Court Justice Ruth Bader Ginsberg. As a DC Circuit judge, he decided dozens of landmark cases, earning a reputation as one of the most brilliant and fair legal minds in the judiciary. He accomplished most of this after losing his eyesight at age 30. His memoir, “Vision: A Memoir of Blindness and Justice,” will be published by Little, Brown on June 11, 2024.

Mr. Adegbile is a Partner at WilmerHale and Chair of the Anti-Discrimination practice. He previously worked at the NAACP Legal Defense & Education Fund from 2001 to 2014, including as Director of Litigation from 2007 to 2014 and Acting President & Director-Counsel from 2012 to 2013. He has argued several important civil rights cases at the Supreme Court and beyond – including successfully defending the Voting Rights Act before Judge Tatel on the DC Circuit, in Northwest Austin Municipal Utility District No. 1 v. Holder. Mr. Adegbile also served as senior counsel for the U.S. Senate Committee on the Judiciary from 2013-2014, advising on Supreme Court jurisprudence and the defense of civil rights, especially voting rights. In 2016, he was appointed by President Barack Obama to the United States Commission on Civil Rights, on which he served for six years. More recently, he led a WilmerHale team in a successful challenge to Georgia’s congressional and legislative maps. Among his many roles at WilmerHale, Mr. Adegbile conducts civil rights and equity audits for clients, imparting the wisdom and practice from his many years of upholding American civil liberties.


2024 Co-Chairs

Chioma Achebe
The Carlyle Group


Chinh Le
University of Virginia School of Law


Beth Neitzel
Foley Hoag

Vanita Gupta
Former Associate Attorney General


Lauren Moore


David Ogden

Josh Hsu
Jenner & Block


Micah Myers
Cozen O'Connor


Cate Stetson
Hogan Lovells

2023 Sponsors


Trailblazer of Justice

Kirkland & Ellis logo



Latham logo


Champion of Justice 


Skadden logo


Protector of Justice

Covington Logo


Sidley logo


WilmerHale logo


Defender of Justice

Alston & Bird Logo


Hogan Lovells logo


Arnold & Porter logo


Mayer Brown logo


Bailey Glasser Logo


Paul Weiss logo


Guardian of Justice


Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP

Baker Botts, L.L.P.





Advocate of Justice


ArentFox Schiff

Blank Rome

Crowell & Moring



Jenner & Block



Munger Tolles


Venable LLP

Weil Gotshal

Williams & Connolly

Willkie Farr & Gallagher

Steward of Justice


Brownstein Hyatt Farber Schreck, LLP

Bryan Cave


Cozen O'Connor

Cravath, Swaine & Moore LLP

Cushman & Wakefield 

Debevoise & Plimpton 

DLA Piper

Ernst & Young LLP (EY)

Epstein Becker Green


Eversheds Sutherland LLP

Fish & Richardson

Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson LLP


Hughes Hubbard

Jones Day



Morgan, Lewis & Bockius LLP



Morrison Foerster LLP

Northrop Grumman

Paul Hastings

Rena Reiss

Ropes & Gray

Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP

Vinson & Elkins LLP

Wiley Rein

Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati Foundation

Zuckerman Spaeder

Corporate Honor Roll

Booz Allen Hamilton Logo

Cushman logo

FTI Consulting logo

KPMG logo


Citi Private Bank logo

DiamondRock Logo

Hilton Logo

Marriott Logo

NGC logo

City National Bank logo

EY Logo

Host Hotel Logo

Ullico Logo


David Dantzic Headshot

David Dantzic
Partner, Latham & Watkins
Servant of Justice Honoree

Karl Racine Headshot

Karl Racine
Former DC Attorney General
Servant of Justice Honoree

Farhana Chowdhury Headshot

Farhana Chowdhury and the Asian/Pacific Islander Domestic Violence Resource Project
Partnership Honoree

Jo Bahn Headshot

Josephine M. Bahn
Cozen O'Connor
Klepper Prize for Volunteer Excellence